For Mary Oliver


Mary Oliver, one of my very favorite poets, is reported to be gravely ill. I’m lighting a candle and some incense for her tonight. I hope that you will, too.

When I Am Among the Trees

~ Mary Oliver

When I am among the trees,
especially the willows and the honey locust,
equally the beech, the oaks and the pines,
they give off such hints of gladness,
I would almost say that they save me, and daily.

I am so distant from the hope of myself,
in which I have goodness, and discernment,
and never hurry through the world
but walk slowly, and bow often.

Around me the trees stir in their leaves
and call out, “Stay awhile.”
The light flows from their branches.

And they call again, “It’s simple,” they say,
“and you too have come
into the world to do this, to go easy, to be filled
with light, and to shine.”

from the book, Thirst.

Picture found here.

8 responses to “For Mary Oliver

  1. I will light a candle with the wish that if it is her time to pass may she do easily and with joy. Thanks for posting.

  2. I read these words;

    “I am so distant from the hope of myself,
    in which I have goodness, and discernment,
    and never hurry through the world
    but walk slowly, and bow often”

    & I bow down in pray for Mary.

  3. Very, very sorry to hear this…

  4. Thank you, Hecate
    And blessings to Mary and all her Dear Ones

  5. So sad to hear of this, thank you for posting and honoring her. She is one of my favorite poets as well.

  6. Here is another blog just set up for tributes to help Mary Oliver: http://www.mediabistro.com/galleycat/mary-oliver-tribute-blog_b47153

  7. there is a reason i found you. i just posted this very poem on my facebook page and a friend told me of mary oliver’s illness. i searched it and your blog appeared. i was surprised to see the poem you had posted, of all the beautiful poems of Mary Oliver’s, was this one. thank you for the connection, whatever it is or will become of it. thank you.

  8. For me Mary Oliver gives voice to walk in the woods,a tree, or a water snake… all thing simple and wonderful. Thank you for this post…

Leave a Reply

