Tuesday Evening PotPourri

En Deshabille

* First, I’d like to wish a happy Diwali to all who celebrate it. May we all live our lives such that Lakshmi feels welcome.

* I flit here and there around the web and I admit that my time is limited. It’s difficult for me to understand why it should be controversial for a group of Pagans to gather in a circle at Pagan Pride Day, but then we know that I think many Pagan Pride Day events are poorly-thought-out. However, one of the lovely things that I found when flitting about the web is this set of cornerstones for building Pagan groups put together by Diana’s Grove. I particularly like the emphasis, based upon a Jean Houston quote, on The Sacred Wound:

The wounding becomes sacred when we are willing to release our old stories and to become the vehicles through which the new story may emerge into time. When we fail to do this, we repeat the same old story over and over again.

Blessed Chiron, guide our way.

* Medusa has the information on the recent death of Goddess scholar Patricia Monaghan. May the Goddess guard her. May she find her way to the Summerlands. May her friends and family know peace. Damn. Everyone who laid down stepping stones for me is passing.

* Love the (new-to-me) word “fibershed.”

These little realities about living and working with plants and animals – it creates a difference in your body. I know this because I observed the changes in myself. You really learn how to work. It’s like systems theory; you can get a system to start producing good results if you get the pendulum swinging in the right direction.

* If you do not follow Style Crone, you should.

* This weekend, G/Son and I went to the National Gallery of Art. It’s been some time since I’ve taken a little boy to an art museum. Hence, I was, foolishly, not anticipating the FIRST REACTION OF ALL SIX-YEAR OLD BOYS EVER to the main hall of the National Gallery of Art: “Nonna! Those statues are naked. You can see their penises and, oooooohhhh, Nonna, you can see their . . . breasts.”

Shorter Nonna: “Yes. Artists knew that the human body is beautiful and not shameful. That’s why it’s silly to be ashamed of our bodies. Oh, and look over here . . . .” G/Son really liked the statue of St. George (which led to a long discussion about why some art works get saved even when they’ve been damaged) and the picture of Daniel in the Lions’ Den. He didn’t know Daniel’s story, so Nonna told it to him and he said, “I bet that he prayed very fearfully,” and Nonna agreed. His other favorite was the fountain of cherubs and a swan, and he explained to me that, at his school, they call cherubs “baby angels.”

When we got to the fountain dedicated to Mercury, G/Son noted that people had been throwing coins into it and asked Nonna for a coin. Mercury is the God that Nonna’s always invoked for Son, a runner who has wings on his feet and makes the quick decisions that all Scorpios make. Nonna and G/Son talked about being the messenger of the Gods; we talked about being fleet-footed; and we talked about the role of Air in the recent election. Then, Nonna handed over a quarter and said, “When you throw it in, make a wish to Mercury.” G/Son threw the quarter in and said, “I prayed to God because you don’t see people doing this (making praying hands symbol and bowing head) to Mercury, Nonna.” And Nonna laughed, took G/Son’s hand, and said, “No, no you don’t. I wonder why that is.” Nonna’s playing the long game here; it’s that for which age equips one.

Later, after the all-important trip to the gift shop, we wandered through the Lichtenstein exhibit. Those pictures were very accessible to G/Son and this was his favorite. On our way out, we visited and discussed the NGA’s one, disappointing (IMHO) Goldsworthy and the Ernst sculpture, which drew a strongly emotional response from G/Son who did not, for once, notice the genitals.

Then, we stood outside waiting for our car, saw the Canadian embassy, and had a long discussion about International Law. My old prof would have been proud of me.

* My soul is deep, deep, deep into a late MidAtlantic Autumn, the kind where the morning rain on the orange giant Maple and the cherry-red Japanese maples is set off by the golden crape myrtles and the deep green of the local magnolias. I am what my landbase is.

Can it be true that Old England Is Dying?

I don’t believe it.

Photo by the blogger; if you copy, please link back.

4 responses to “Tuesday Evening PotPourri

  1. Next time that you and G/Son are passing by the Canadian embassy, you might want to point out the sculpture of The Spirit of Haida Gwaii.

    An excerpt from the Wikipedia article:

    “. . .it shows a traditional Haida cedar dugout canoe which totals six metres in length. . . .Consistent with Haida tradition, the significance of the passengers is highly symbolic. The variety and interdependence of the canoe’s occupants represents the natural environment on which the ancient Haida relied for their very survival: the passengers are diverse, and not always in harmony, yet they must depend on one another to live. The fact that the cunning trickster, Raven, holds the steering oar is likely symbolic of nature’s unpredictability.”

  2. I liked in essence what the sacred wound page I read (it was a link within a link form TWH article) but I did not care for the wording or the romanticizing of wounds and the reliance on the hero was problematic as it is not a one size fits all story IMO. It has come to be regarded as such, but the hero story is but a page in the mother’s story and just a chapter in the story of the sage. I think trying to fit all instances of overcoming, learning and releasing into the hero story backfires very often weakening both the idea of the hero as well as diminishing by exclusion of the other stories that may be more fitting and helpful.

    In education what was done with the wound page would be called glamorizing the problem. I know that is not the intent but it is the tone of that page. Commiseration is mentioned as a bonding agent. Commiseration is a base level of bonding. When all else fails and there is no ability to bond over active work for any number of reasons, commiseration works. While it should not be ignored as a tool, I do not think it so productive a tool as to be a foundation because it can lead to stagnation and metaphorical scab picking. That foundation block needs, IMO, to be a tool box inclusive of other forms of bonding and honoring individual struggles.

    But the essence of the article was about healing, growing and honoring those experiences and that much I liked. I just think it needs work and maybe a simple review of what cognitive dissonance is and real practical strategies for dealing with it as most every example used was a basic example of cog. dis.. Those aren’t always wounds, but very often growing pains IMO. Honor the process, I can agree with that, but glamorizing the dissonance not so much.

    That said, I am not a community organizer and there have got to be a ton of things I do not know about and am not considering.

  3. “Damn. Everyone who laid down stepping stones for me is passing.”

    I understand. I always thought they’d be immortal!

  4. PFFFFF…. Well, that’s a lot more civil than what happened when my mother brought me into the Greek and Roman wing at the Met. If I remember the story right, her mother wanted me to be properly cultured, and while my mother doesn’t get embarrassed easily, my grandmother was mortified by a two year old, far-carrying, echoing high pitched voice yelling “BOLITOS!!!” And then she later accidentally sat on a sarcophagus.

    And then, for some time I knew statues were nude because they were “old,” which naturally assumed was because they hadn’t invented clothes yet. For some time I pondered mystery of how advance sculpture developed before the invention of clothes. LOGIC.

Leave a Reply

