Monday Morning Potpourri

photo

* This weekend, G/Son was looking at my collection of poetry books and he asked, “Nonna, have you read all of those books?” I said that I had and that, since I’m 58 and have been reading since I was 6, I’ve had 52 years to read and, in that time, I’ve read a lot of books. I said, “Of course, some of these, like
When We Were Very Young, I read when I was little, but some I read after I’d grown up. G/Son looked at the books and said, “Like Soul of Rumi, right? You read that when you’d grown up.” I asked him how he knew and he said, “It’s a thick book, so I think you’d have read it when you were older.” The most recent book of poetry that I read (but which I read on Kindle so it wasn’t on the shelf at which G/Son was looking) was Songs for Ophelia by Theodora Goss. What’s the most recent poem or book of poetry you’ve read? How many books are on your shelf?

* David Whyte writes on his Facebook page that:

REGRET is a short, evocative and achingly beautiful word; an elegy to lost possibilities even in its brief annunciation, it is also a rarity and almost never heard except where the speaker insists that they have none, that they are brave and forward looking and could not possibly imagine their life in any other way than the way it is. To admit regret is to understand we are fallible: that there are powers in the world beyond us: to admit regret is to lose control not only of a difficult past but of the very story we tell about our present; and yet strangely, to admit sincere and abiding regret is one of our greatest but unspoken contemporary sins.

Just before waking this morning, I had a dream about profound regret, the regret that a only a very young child can feel when the child is an old soul living in a tiny body. The act of supreme regret came when the child surrendered a hat that he’d taken to protect an older child. I’m still parsing through the dream. It was very strong and hasn’t yielded to any form of easy interpretation — generally a sign that the message is one that I really, really need.

Of course, Mr. Whyte’s discussion reminds me of the Edith Piaf song:

I can’t say, with Mme. Piaf, that I have no regrets. Nor can I even say, with Mr. Sinatra, that “Regrets? I’ve had a few, but then, too few to mention.”

I agree with Mr. Whyte that having regrets is a sign of maturity. Do you?

* Have your registered yet for Sacred Space/Between the Worlds? If you live on or near the East Coast, it’s one of the year’s best conferences. This year, it will include:

Featured Presenters for 2015:
Dolores Ashcroft-Nowicki
Judika Illes
Diana Paxson

with Regional Teachers
Elmdea Adams
Byron Ballard
Caroline Kenner
Monika Lonely Coyote
Diotima Mantineia
Laurel Mendes
Angela Raincatcher
Gwendolyn Reece
A’alyvyne Weaverwood

Last year, when The Wild Hunt‘s Jason Pitzl-Waters covered Sacred Space he noted that it’s a conference for people who are serious about doing “The Work.”

* Do you need some encouraging news after last week’s horrible election? Here you go:

* Enough said:

Picture by the blogger. If you copy, please link back.

2 responses to “Monday Morning Potpourri

  1. The last book of poems I read was: poets are not useful, by my dear friend Gwyndyn T. Alexander. She’s a good friend, but if she weren’t, I would still say that her poetry is raw and beautiful, gorgeous and painful all at the same time. I recommend her book for poetry buffs and for people who normally don’t read poetry.

    It can be found on Amazon: http://smile.amazon.com/poets-are-useful-Gwyndyn-Alexander-ebook/dp/B00N8B1C4Q/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1416238036&sr=1-1&keywords=poets+are+not+useful&pebp=1416238037294

    • And I don’t know how many books I have. I’ve never counted, and they’re everywhere. I have boxes of stored books because I don’t have room for them all.

Leave a Reply

