Monday at the Movies

A couple of weeks ago, I had dinner with Son, DiL, and G/Son. We were discussing the fact that G/Son was going to spend the night with me while his ‘rents went off to Annapolis for a race that Son was planning to run. As soon as he heard that he’d be staying with me, G/Son said, “I want to go see Big Hero 6! Can we go, Nonna?”

I admit that I’d never head of the movie, but G/Son and I have been to see a couple of movies that he picked out (The Leggo Movie, How to Train Your Dragon 2, Monsters University) and a couple of movies that I picked out (The Hobbit, The Desolation of Smaug, Malificent) and I didn’t have high hopes for Big Hero 6. But the weather’s turned cold. It’s difficult to spend time outside. And Nonna’s never reticent about commenting on the underlying themes (capitalism, colonialism, Patriarchy) in popular movies. And, so, on a chilly Saturday morning, G/Son and I found ourselves settling into the Lazy-Boy-lounger-like chairs of the local theater.

I was pleasantly surprised. I think of all the movies that G/Son’s picked out, I liked this one the best.

The plot wasn’t too simple and the answers weren’t too pat. There wasn’t too much of an element that shows up in in many “kids” films that I can only describe as an attempt to ape adulthood — a certain cynicism. Instead, the characters were true to their ages: the kids were kids, the grownups were grownups, the college students were college students. All of the main heroes and heroines were “nerds” — engineers who love to invent things. The location, San Fransokyo, was a very believable combination of San Francisco and Tokyo. (I said to G/Son that the city, with all of its hills and its focus on the bay, reminded me a lot of San Francisco, where I’ve been but he hasn’t, and he told me that all of the “tech” and “neon” was true to Tokyo — where neither of us have been. No idea where he got that.)

On the ride home, we had some interesting discussion about Asimov’s Laws of Robotics and whether those laws could have avoided the harm done in the film, about an inventor’s responsibility (or lack thereof) for the purposes for which his invention is used, and about how the capitalist in the film never stops to consider these issues and, so, causes what ultimately happens to him. (See, I told you Nonna could turn anything into a lesson on the evils of Patriarchy.)

Have you seen Big Hero 6? What did you think?

2 responses to “Monday at the Movies

  1. Haven’t seen it yet, it’s on my list, but the more I read the more I think I’m going to like it.

  2. Widdershins, Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

