Holding Onto Good Blogging

I’m old and my life’s been complicated, often a dance upon the razor-thin wire of, on the one hand, working too hard and, on the other, not living up to my dreams. But the older that I get and the longer that I live on this Earth as a Witch, the more that I believe that the actual answer is something that Joe Gerstandt says: “Do the work.” (Before enlightenment, chop wood and carry water. After enlightenment, well, you know.)

There are only two tricks to this. The first is figuring out what, exactly, is “the work” and what is simply distraction. There’s a lot of distraction. Mary Oliver was talking about this when she wrote:

The Journey

One day you finally knew
what you had to do, and began,
though the voices around you
kept shouting
their bad advice—
though the whole house
began to tremble
and you felt the old tug
at your ankles.
“Mend my life!”
each voice cried.
But you didn’t stop.
You knew what you had to do,
though the wind pried
with its stiff fingers
at the very foundations,
though their melancholy
was terrible.
It was already late
enough, and a wild night,
and the road full of fallen
branches and stones.
But little by little,
as you left their voices behind,
the stars began to burn
through the sheets of clouds,
and there was a new voice
which you slowly
recognized as your own,
that kept you company
as you strode deeper and deeper
into the world,
determined to do
the only thing you could do—
determined to save
the only life you could save.

The second trick is actually doing the work. Often, the more our spirit needs something, the more our fears push back against it.

When I go back in trance and talk to my younger self (which both is, and is not, my Younger Self), I tell her: “Just keep going for what feels right. You don’t have to see the whole path laid out in front of you. In fact, whatever whole path you glimpse, that’s probably like the Buddha on the road and you should avoid it.” (I don’t have time to kill Buddha, but I’d sure like to spend less time dancing with him.)

Instead, just keep holding onto good (and, which can be far more difficult, keep letting go of everything else).

May it be so for you.

3 responses to “Holding Onto Good Blogging

  1. Rowan ni Naradhaigh

    Excellent advice that I needed to hear right now. While it may not apply the same way for me as you (recovering from a stroke), it does apply to what I need to do for myself, in this place, at this time. Thank you.

  2. Rowan, You are very welcome. Sending good thoughts for your best recovery.

  3. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 08/03/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

