Blizzard PotPourri

article-1248956-082D0D04000005DC-55_634x381.jpg

  •  A mere six years ago, we lived, here in the Magical MidAtlantic, through a blizzard that was reported to be a once-every-700-hundred-years event.  This afternoon, the next one started.  I’m an old woman who lives alone and these storms can be scary for me.  I’ve learned how to prepare.  Obviously, I have a pantry of canned foods and other necessities such as toilet paper, bottled water, deicer.  I fill my prescriptions as far ahead as my insurance will allow.  I charge every device I have (in case of power outages) and I bring some firewood indoors.  I have a generator to run the major appliances (fridge, internet, sump pumps, etc.).  And, for the love of the Goddess, if you’re about to be snowed in, take out your trash.  That gets tricky when there’s several feet of snow on the ground.  I spent a good (and cold!) quarter of an hour this morning making sure that all of my trash and all of the “stuff” left over from a recent renovation were carted outside to the trash cans.
  • I am, luckily, a serious introvert, and, so, spending time alone is actually rather nice for me, although, after the 12 days I spent housebound in 2010, I was pretty ready to get out of the house and commune with other carbon-based humans.
  • I do magic every day of the year to keep me in touch with the Powers, and Spirits, and Beings of this Place.  And when the bad storms come, I ramp that up and ask for protection.  The power of a storm, unleashed directly above, is a GREAT and VERY POWERFUL time to do magic.  Harness some of that energy.  Use it.
  • Limit as much as possible, your use of electricity.  Electricity warms a very large number of homes and businesses and the power grid is going to be strained.  Heavy snow can bring down power lines and it can take the miracle workers who keep our grid intact a lot of time and trouble to fix things.  If you see them, say thanks and offer them some coffee, hot tea, or a chance to use the bathroom.  Ditto for the folks who run snow plows, direct traffic, staff the all-night 7-11.
  •    I find that it helps me to have a plan, a set of goals that I want to accomplish for the duration of the emergency.  If a storm is one of the few times that you can slow down and recharge, then plan to do that.  Put on warm socks, brew some tea, curl up with a good book, a fun movie, or a game of Parcheesi, or Uno (G/Son’s favorite), or ma jong (I’m going to learn to play the real thing before I’m done.)  Sign up for and complete a MOOC.  Buy your seeds for this Spring.  Start and finish a knitting project.  Do yoga AND walk on the treadmill every day.  Organize photos into an album.  Start doing a daily practice and plan to continue even once the snow is gone.
  • If you can, do something to help the homeless, for whom this kind of weather isn’t the mere inconvenience it is for most of us.  For them, this can be life threatening.  If you can buy a package of cheap athletic socks, keep them in your car and hand out a pair to every homeless person you pass.  Knit simple caps while you watch tv or Netflix and hand those out.  Send some money.  Write some letters.  Program your area’s homeless hotline into your cell phone so that you can easily call them if you see someone in distress.
  • May you be safe.  May your be warm.  May you be dry.

Picture found here.

3 responses to “Blizzard PotPourri

  1. Jane Gagle-Bennett

    Good advice – stay safe.

  2. Stay safe. Warm. and Dry.
    May your power stay on and strong.
    Light the candles and brew tea.
    Keep watch and sweep out ….

    Jan at Rosemary Cottage

  3. Jan and Jane, many thanks. Hope you are both snug

Leave a Reply

