Counting Steps

simple.b-cssdisabled-jpg.h363510ef059f56bb368a27e5f18232f9.pack

Winter Solstice is well behind us and Imbolc has slipped away.  We’re now more than half way through February (and I don’t care what Elliot said about April, February really is the cruelest month) and no one can deny that the light is growing.  Today, thanks to a nasty trusts & estates issue, I spent more time than I’d normally have chosen with my ancestors.  And as much as they kept bugging me, I kept coming back to:  my Fitbit.

Do you have one of these?  They’re these devices that you wear, either as a bracelet or as a cute little hook-type thing on your bra, or in your pocket, and they count how many steps you take every day.  10,000 steps is the Holy Grail.  And I kept coming back to my Fitbit because it was my way of saying to my ancestors, “You’re not the boss of me.”  Or, in other words, I may come from people as dysfunctional as the day is long, but, look, just look, it’s only 7:00 and I’ve already got 4,500 steps.  It’s 4:00 and I’m going to walk the 4 blocks to the pharmacy instead of having them deliver and, well, there’s another 3,000 steps, even if they were taken in the freezing wind.

I think that, especially now, we all need some kind of a Fitbit.  Some kind of way to measure progress and convince ourselves that we’re not mired in our ancestors’ winters.

How do you count your steps?

Picture found here.

4 responses to “Counting Steps

  1. I live in Buffalo & here April is really the cruelest month … you’re so close to spring & then it SNOWS again. In February, you get those crystal-clear winter days with the bluest skies & sparkling white snow & it’s a joy to be outside in the crisp cold air. But I love winter & I am unapologetic about it.

    I don’t count my steps. I don’t have a car anymore & anywhere I need to go is about a half-hour from my house (more or less) & then it’s a half-hour back, so that’s an hour walk a day. In the winter, it can be longer & harder because of the ice & snow but that’s a better workout. You have to have the proper shoes & you have to forget about looking fab.

    In the three years since my car was totaled (my son was driving, an old woman turned in front of him, thank the Goddess nobody was hurt), I have walked or rode a bike or used public transportation to get to where I need to go & I now am in better shape than I have ever been. Not thin, mind you, but healthy & strong.

    I love your blog & look forward to it everyday. BB

  2. For the last two months, I’ve been counting my steps one at a time.

  3. I use an app, noom walk, on my android (I understand similar functionality now built into newest mobile OS’, esp apple6, which my sister has, but she had her fitbit first and uses that): I use noom walk because easy & ESP doesn’t drain battery – was key for me. I pretty much always have my phone in my hip pocket, except when we’re both sitting down and recharging (and I don’t wear clothing without pockets) and have counted steps manually to see how accurate it is and it’s pretty close enough that I don’t worry it’s inaccurate.

    Congrats on 4500 before 7am! I should make an early sub-total a daily goal, because I have quite groggy AM’s, & want that to change.

    Your comment:
    “I think that, especially now, we all need some kind of a Fitbit. Some kind of way to measure progress and convince ourselves that we’re not mired in our ancestors’ winters”
    …made me think that we also need other types of measures we can quickly, simply use – metaphoric ‘fitbits’ for other functions in our lives. Will think about what and how…

  4. I have a Fitbit too. I was pleasantly surprised to see I walk more than I thought I did. Some of my ancestors think I’m a wimp though. 😀

Leave a Reply

