Summer Comfort

Hammock-Swing-730x285

Last week’s post on comfort seemed to strike a cord.  Here are some other wonderful ways to comfort yourself (call it “self-care” or “pulling down your own oxygen mask first” if that makes it more palatable to your Puritan soul) in the midst of what the Green Man and I call “high summer.”

  •  Watering in.  July is one of the hottest, driest months here in Washington, D.C.  Plants need water.  And, Goddess knows, I use a sprinkler so that I can soak a spot while I run inside, pop in  a load of laundry, chop up some veggies for dinner, and then run back out and move the sprinkler.  But hand watering, with a hose in one hand and a glass of something (iced coffee in the morning, iced tea in the afternoon, and iced something else in the evening) is such a fun thing to do.  It reminds me of how much we loved playing with running water when I was a kid.  It gives me time to talk to the plants and to see how they’re doing.  And the birds love it, too.
  • Watermelon.  It’s wonderful just chilled in the fridge and then sliced.  But it’s also good lightly grilled, tossed with arugula, sliced black olives, and feta cheese.  Drizzle on some balsamic vinegar.
  • Birdsong.  If you sit still and close your eyes and really focus on summer’s almost continuous background noise of birdsong, it’s magical.  I soon start to feel as if I am floating in it.  You can do it for just a minute or for a long time.  It makes you more whole.
  • Lark rise to Candleford.  Start with Season 1, Episode 1.  You’ll thank me.
  • Arts and crafts.  There’s something soul-satisfying about making things.  Paint, sketch, sculpt, knit, crochet, color, weave, carve, glue, decorate.   Play the piano.  Sing.  Dance.  Journal or scrapbook.
  • Organize all the old recipes into a computer cookbook.  Add the history: “This was my mom’s recipe for turkey stuffing.”  “My grandma taught me to make this lemon pie the summer I was ten.”  “I cut this out of a magazine sometime in the 70s and have been making it ever since.”  I’m sure there’s an app.
  • Have breakfast for dinner.
  • Good, slow jazz..
  • Clean out a closet, or dresser drawer, or the whole damn basement.

 

What’s on your list?

Picture found here.

3 responses to “Summer Comfort

  1. Rolling out of bed just before sunrise, making a mug of tea, and listening to birdsong while the sun comes up.

  2. What a wonderfully helpful list, from the lyrical description of “watering in” to the suggestion of just listening to birdsong. My riparian corridor (my backyard) is full to bursting with this. And oh! Lark Rise to Candleford – could there possibly be a more English title? – is absolutely lovely, and exactly the kind of soul food I need these weeks while on the mend and in need of entertainment that will keep me off my feet. I thank you (you did say I would)!

  3. Love your list, so here is mine. Hand watering, with a glass of red wine, right after the sun has set. TJ watermelon juice, ohsogood on a hot one. Can’t hear the birds for the jays and crows. Already enjoyed Larkrise to C. Light viewing and periodic pieces are absent. Yard work. Landscaping the back to take the heat and be drought tolerant. Giving away goods to clean and simplify (mostly my wife’s project). Reading (right now on The Story of a New Name). Grilling pizzas. Enjoy the summer. Cheers

Leave a Reply

