Two Questions

heron

I’ve been thinking about what, if anything, I could profitably say today and the best that I can do is to share some Wendell Berry with you.

First, here is some of the best advice there is for dealing with the pain and fear that so many of us are feeling.

The Peace of Wild Things

~ Wendell Berry

When despair grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting for their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Give yourself some time, and whatever else you need, to process this pain.

And, second, here’s something Mr. Berry said when asked whether he believed that we’d be able to successfully address climate change:

“We don’t have a right to ask whether we’re going to succeed or not. The only question we have a right to ask is what’s the right thing to do? What does this earth require of us if we want to continue to live on it?”

Once the hurt becomes a bit less excruciating, I suggest you ask yourself those questions and act accordingly.

11 responses to “Two Questions

  1. Thanks so much for this!

  2. This is one of my favorite poems, and it finally brought the tears to the surface–I’ve just been feeling numb and dazed (and depressed, and angry) all day. Thank you.

    Amy

  3. Don’t cry, don’t despair – Organize!

  4. Hey, Thanks for all the uplift, the clear, direct righteousness, the attitude. I keep learning. Thank you.

  5. Thanks for this. It’s my favorite poem. I’ll be heading for the woods today. I need to figure out how I’m going to live the next for years.

  6. Thanks for that and all you did. I’m angry and fearful. Thinking of you, take care. ErinPDX

  7. Ray Bradbury’s story about time travel “The Sound of Thunder” came to mind ….. especially the end about the changes in the election ….

  8. Pingback: Wise Words (Not Mine) for Challenging Times – The Verdant Way

  9. Beautiful and much needed poetry. Thank you, Hecate.

  10. Pingback: Geek Mystique: Lifestyle News for November

Leave a Reply

