May the Goddess Guard Him. May He Find His Way to the Summerlands. May His Friends and Family Find Peace.

 

Goddess, the bad news from this year never stops coming.  Losing Leonard Cohen is a hard blow.

My first lover wooed me with Suzanne.

(I liked his version even better than Mr. Cohen’s.)

I weaned Son to That’s No Way to Say Goodbye and crooned it to myself the night that, grown up, he moved into an apartment with DiL.  When G/Son was a baby, I sang it to him to put him to sleep.  He always slept so hard, with a flush on his cheek, his red hair all tohu-bohu, his arms flung across the pillow.

Yes, I’m a maudlin old woman.  I own it.

3 responses to “May the Goddess Guard Him. May He Find His Way to the Summerlands. May His Friends and Family Find Peace.

  1. I second your prayer, and for those of us left behind we need to remember that “The sisters of mercy they are not departed or gone.” We really must believe that they are waiting when we feel that we just can’t go on. May we share in their comfort.
    Blessings!

  2. So sorry for this loss. I know this is very personal for you, Hecate. Sending you love and prayers from the Green Man and the Green Wizard. XO

  3. May I ask, have you listened to the title track from his last album, You Want It Darker? Seems eerily (almost frighteningly) apt for this past week.

Leave a Reply

