Thank the Goddess

c3582maueaed7a7

I may write more extensively about it this weekend, but suffice it to say that I am happy that the Ninth Circuit has refused to remove the lower court’s restraining order from Trump’s attempt to ban travel from 7 countries.

The most important bit, IMHO, is that the court made clear that even the President is subject to the rule of law and even on matters of “national security.”  (You can see how if they carved out “national security,” suddenly, everything would be about “national security.”)  That’s essentially the entire thread upon which our democracy hangs:  even the President has to follow the law.  And, as the court made clear, the law includes due process for everyone on American soil.

I’m not surprised, but I’m happy.  For the moment.  We’ll see what the Supreme Court does.  A 4 to 4 decision would leave the Ninth Circuit’s decision in place, but even some of the more conservative judges will be reluctant to say that courts have no role here.

Picture found here.

5 responses to “Thank the Goddess

  1. Yaaaaay! … love the ‘toon. 😀

  2. I am remembering the days of my youth when lawyers and judges were the front line in the fight for Truth, Justice, and the American Way (whatever that was). I had an IMPEACH THE COX-SACKER sticker on my suitcase. I’m also hoping that those who think that it’s enough to give eloquent stump speeches that “everybody” agrees with will take note: When the crunch comes, it really helps to have people on your side who’ve been preparing all their lives for this and who know how to use the tools.

  3. Susanna, I couldn’t agree more.

  4. Thank you for posting the ‘toon, I’ve put it to good use.

Leave a Reply

