The Magical Battle of America 3/11/17

torch

Thank you to everyone who has been doing these weekly workings!  To reorient yourself, you may want to re-read last week’s working.

A large part of the work that we are going to be doing, just as was the case with the working that Dion Fortune did during WWII, is to protect America by, as she said, “getting in touch with the Group-Mind” of the nation.  Hence, the work we have been doing to bring into focus well-known American archetypes such as the cowboy, the underground railroad, Paul Revere, Helen Keller, Johnny Appleseed, and, of course, Lady Liberty herself.  As our work makes these archetypes more and more vivid in our minds, they will become stronger and stronger in the American group-mind.  As Ms. Fortune explained, “Our work is to formulate and re-formulate day by day the mental link between the spiritual influences and,” what she called “the group mind of the race.”  Today, we’d use different language, but we certainly recognize that there is an American Psyche and that it has, over the past year or so, been polluted with everything from Nazi symbolism to increased racism, xenophobia, religious intolerance, sexism, Russian propaganda, false news, etc., etc. etc.  A large part of our working is going to be to counter that pollution — what Occult Librarian would call miasma — within the national psyche.

And, so, for this week’s working, after you ground and center, cast a circle and anchor yourself firmly to your landbase.  Notice a small detail that will call you back when this working is finished.

Breathe.

Return again to our American plain on the astral plane.  See the prairie grasses and feel the wind.  Watch the bison graze in the distance.  Find again a small hillock where you can comfortably sit and observe.

Breathe.

See again the glowing banners at the points of the pentacle:  Walden Pond, the Underground Railroad, the Cowboy, the Salmon, Lady Liberty.

Stand up, look out over the prairie, and resolve within your own heart that America will be protected.  Know that you have it within you to summon great forces and to do what is necessary.

Remember last week when you called to America’s heroes, heras, symbols, figures of myth.  Which came through to you most strongly?  Call again to that helper and ask them to work with you again in today’s working.  See them walking towards you across the plain.  From which direction do they come?  Under which banner do they appear?  How are they clothed?  Do they carry anything with them?  Ask them to sit on a hillock next to yours.  Spend some time in silence with them.  Meditate on their story.  How did they protect America?  What did they do to make this country a better place?  What miasma or forces did they have to counter?  Ask them if they are willing to do so again.

If they are not willing, thank them and let them go.  This week, you will work with the landbase itself.  You will focus on the ways that the American landbase has shaped our American psyche.  What good qualities and strengths have we drawn from it?  How can those qualities become more present within the American consciousness?

If the archetype you contacted is willing, thank them and ask them to grow larger and larger and brighter and brighter.  As you see them becoming more and more powerful in your own mind, see them becoming more focused and more helpful within the national psyche.  Visualize school children learning about them.  Imagine citizens discussing them.  See artists making art works that bring these figures more and more alive within America’s imagination.  Picture them becoming more and more present within the halls of government, within our schools, on television, via social media.  Focus on moving their good traits back to the forefront of our national attention.

Do they have a message for you?  If so, repeat it so that you will remember it to write down afterwards.  What do they want from you in return for their help?  What will you do in the coming days to bring a healing dose of this archetype back into our national consciousness?

Breathe.

Gradually, the figures fade.  Thank them for their help.  They no longer need to be visible for you to feel their presence.  .

Slowly, come down from the hillock on the plains and begin to walk back to your own landbase.

Open your eyes.  Rub your arms and face.  Drink some water.  Have something to eat if you like, maybe a piece of bread with peanut butter or a handful of raisins.  Notice the detail that you selected to call yourself back.

You may want to repeat this working several times this week.  You may want to journal about it.  Are you inspired to make any art?  If you’re willing, please share in comments who you saw and how this working went.

Picture found here.

 

 

13 responses to “The Magical Battle of America 3/11/17

  1. This last week I created art and then shared it on FB, and my blog (I’ll share the finished work this week.). The scene I shared is a woman marching carrying a sign saying “Persist”, and she has big bare feet and is striding in the march of many women. The vase has 4 different autobiographical scenes, bringing myself into view in the directions of my being at the time I created it…then giving that as a gift for others to know and see. One side is a phoenix with wings outstretched over the firey nest, one has otters playing in a stream beneath the moon and a tree, one has a bee settling on a flower. Thank you for creating this meditation, which I recorded for myself to repeat again throughout the week. I also enjoyed hearing about other’s experiences in comments.

  2. Thank you for this, and all the posts, and I am grateful also for the comments, which give me more imagery to work with. Despite my best efforts, I finished the first working with an intense dizzy spell. I then felt myself to be a not very experienced magic worker and shied away from the next working, instead spending some time looking for better ways to ground and center myself before venturing forth again.

    • Cari Ferraro, Thank you so much for sharing this. You did exactly the right thing. I’m going to do a post about how to deal with this issue, as you are not the only one.

      • Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your new post was exactly what I needed. I have been practicing and getting better at protecting myself. I really want to do the work and feel I have something to offer, though what that is has not been revealed to me yet.

  3. This one left me a bit dizzy. No one in particular reached out to me, but I felt a very strong cry from the land that said, “Protect the water!” I committed the message to memory, and continued with the working by honoring Lady Liberty (I did a bit of research for my district after the working, and indeed, there has been drought)

    My guess is that few people reading this blog need to be reminded, but just in case: Check in with your water source every so often, particularly under this “administration”. Even before this calamity there have been dangerous trends worldwide in how water is managed. Now that we have a President who wants to abolish the EPA, things could well get worse. Protect yourselves, and your communities.

    Blessed Be everybody =)

  4. The March workings are turning out to be full of surprises, ie, I read the post several times, think I understand what to do and the element of surprise shows up. Today was no different.

    When I got to the Prairie, it felt “off” and I wanted to do something that made the space feel more astrally solid or dense, if you will. I looked around and saw the women and Lady Liberty at the points of the Pentacle that I saw last week and yet, I felt like I had to do some sort of astral feng shui. When I examined each point, I felt that animals were missing and having sensed that, animals appeared at all of the points except where Lady Liberty was.

    I still felt something was missing and, as I examined the Pentacle points, I realized that all but the SW point were close to water. That lack of water in the SW has been a semi-conscious fear of mine for years – I grew up in NJ and spent 33 years in coastal California. Not having the Ocean or a large body of water is unnerving to me. But then I remembered that before it was dammed, the Colorado River once flowed unimpeded to the Sea of Cortez creating a watery boundary between Arizona and California. (Arizona, btw, is where I see the SW point of the Pentacle.) So, of course, I had to remove the dams and let the river run free and true.

    I try to settle in on the hillock and realized it’s become Mt. Diablo, the mountain in the East Bay section of the SFBay, where I lived for 19 years. I have a complicated relationship with that mountain and before I could get comfortable, I had to examine that relationship while in our space, which took quite a bit of time.

    Finally, I felt comfortable with our space and tried to quiet my mind and body in order to do the working. I focused on Lady Liberty and had the sudden awareness that her point was the Great Lakes and instantly I realized she was The Lady of the Lake – Morgan le Fey, Nimue, Viviane. I secretly hoped she wasn’t going to give us Excalibur, but there are no secrets in our space and she said that the gifts of healing and defense were with the women on the other points and that I should work with them learn their arts.

    Since I was so focused on our space, I saw that the inner space is a pentagon and the idea came to me that our space was an Alt Department of Defense, aka The Pentagon! By this time, I knew I couldn’t handle any more of the energy I was feeling, said, “I have to go, but I’ll be back.” And I will – I want to reflect on my experience beforehand and get some clarity. I’m pretty sure the Full Moon in Virgo had her effects on me, too, since I do have a Virgo Moon along with Mars and Saturn placed there, too.

  5. Pingback: Normalizing the Normal Again | herlander-walking

  6. The ally who came most clearly for me was Agnes Baker Pilgrim, known as Grandma Aggie. She is one of the Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers and was responsible for bringing ancient salmon ceremonies back to the Oregon river of her ancestors. Of course, after the ceremonies were begun again, the salmon followed. When she appeared in my visualization, I thought this can’t be. I realized my assumption was that our ally would be an American who had passed on or a mythic figure. But, Grandma Aggie made it quite clear that I needed to widen my thinking.

  7. Been creating a Vision Board from first….adding …oriented to D.C…..Blessings all….

Leave a Reply

