Words for Wednesday

suburbs and bird-55
What Kind of Times Are These?
There’s a place between two stands of trees where the grass grows uphill
and the old revolutionary road breaks off into shadows
near a meeting-house abandoned by the persecuted
who disappeared into those shadows.
I’ve walked there picking mushrooms at the edge of dread, but don’t be fooled
this isn’t a Russian poem, this is not somewhere else but here,
our country moving closer to its own truth and dread,
its own ways of making people disappear.
I won’t tell you where the place is, the dark mesh of the woods
meeting the unmarked strip of light—
ghost-ridden crossroads, leafmold paradise:
I know already who wants to buy it, sell it, make it disappear.
And I won’t tell you where it is, so why do I tell you
anything? Because you still listen, because in times like these
to have you listen at all, it’s necessary
to talk about trees.
Picture found here.

 

4 responses to “Words for Wednesday

  1. When I do the meditation for the battle for America and I’m in the Plains, I see a native American and I also see the white man who killed him off. I see an America that is not innocent and I try to find the values that our battle is trying to protect. The native american wants to know what values I’m referring to, I tell him the values that he tried to protect. I don’t see an innocent country. I struggle to find the Americans in the past who stood up for democracy. They come forward eventually but it’s not always easy to find them. I also see that the angry trump voters are angry about same thing as everyone else: income disparity in this country, the big corporate rip off, capitalism for the few. The trump voters use different words, but they know they’re getting left behind, they just don’t know why or how. I see the republican party as the enemy, the greedy ones that are trying to destroy what America stands for. I also see the white man in decline and panicking and his wife trying to stand by him and support him. She’s angry because she’s disrespect in the work place. He’s angry because she has a job and he doesn’t. In my meditation we’re all united against the republican elite. We’re one, trump voters and the non-elites. Those in power politically and financially (murcoch, koch brothers) are the evil ones. then I feel the winds of the midwest, the tornados that whip across the plains. I ask for their help in our battle. I feel the forces of good uniting. I’m reminded that the U.S. is an experiment, that we must keep trying and we must do better.

  2. I don’t know if you saw this, but I thought it would make you happy:
    Mighty American chestnut poised for return to America’s forests
    https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2017/03/170306092247.htm

Leave a Reply

