Summer Reading

vix-reading-in-lake

I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy any new books until I worked through the stack on my bedtable.  (It’s a big stack.)  I recently read and enjoyed The Hidden Lives of Owls.  I’m working now on Gifts of the Crow.  The crow book is more sciencey and the owl book was more spiritual, but I am enjoying the crow book, too.  I also read and really liked Chemistry, a beautifully-written set of stories about Appalachia.

Today, G/Son (who is staying with me) and I went to the bookstore.  He got three books about sports and I got Vogue Knitting, which I am not counting as a book.

What are you reading this summer?

5 responses to “Summer Reading

  1. Currently on the overloaded dog crate-that-doubles-as-a-nightstand (among others)

    Anne Ellis, THE LIFE OF AN ORDINARY WOMAN. A brutally frank memoir of mining-camp life in my part of Colorado in the 1880s-1890s.

    Wade Davis, THE WAYFARERS: WHY ANCIENT WISDOM MATTERS IN THE MODERN WORLD. Anthropology.

    Alex Bledsoe: LONG BLACK CURL. Southern Appalachian Faerie Fiction. Now there’s a niche.

    Mark Williams: IRELAND’S IMMORTALS: A HISTORY OF THE GODS OF IRISH MYTH. He out-Huttons Hutton.

    C. J. Box. VICIOUS CIRCLE. A Northern Rockies murder mystery, which is a larger niche than Bledsoe’s.

    Edward J. Watts. THE FINAL PAGAN GENERATION. History of the late Roman empire, specifically the early 4th century.

  2. Interesting list. I’ve just finished re-reading Moby-Dick. I first read it when I was in high school (it was assigned), and I can’t imagine any sixteen- or seventeen-year-old having the life experience even to begin to understand what Melville was getting at. Also, it was an abridged edition (the ilk of which to Hell with), and it was taught abominably. Needless to say, it was a wasted effort.
    I recently saw an inexpensive edition at a bookstore, so I thought that I’d give it another chance. This time round, I read it with great pleasure.
    I’ve just finished reading The Roman Cult of Mithras: The God and His Mysteries, by Manfred Clauss (in translation), and I’m now working through Mark S. Smith’s God in Translation: Deities in Cross-Cultural Discourse in the Biblical World. Next on my list is The Pagan Temptation, by Thomas Molnar. It’s not the sort of thing I’d ordinarily select, but it was cited by John Michael Greer in A World Full of Gods: An Inquiry into Polytheism, and I was sufficiently intrigued to look it up.
    I’ve been getting in some light reading as well, dipping into Borges’ Book of Imaginary Beings in the evening before retiring.
    Hope all is going well in your bailiwick.

  3. I don’t think I’ll catch up on all the books in my “still be read” pile – there are just so many amazing books to be explored.
    This weekend I’m about to start “the Nature Fix – why nature makes us happier, healthier and more creative” by Florence Williams. And I want to start re-reading some of Ted Hughes’ poetry. I’d love to check the books about owl and crow 🙂

  4. The one book that I couldn’t put down and that is still with me is “Red Sister,” by Mark Lawrence. Also loved “Every Heart a Doorway,” by Seanan McGuire. Thanks, by the way, for this post — I’m happily mining the comments to get some great new ideas for reading!

  5. What a delightful group of books….Blessings for Forests of the Heart….loved it…hated for it to end ❤️

Leave a Reply

