What She Said

snow_white_evil_queen_disney_8

You need to read this. You need to read every word of this.

Picture found here.

6 responses to “What She Said

  1. Oh god YES. But there are so many people commenting on the original article that just don’t seem to get it — if a female character isn’t a downtrodden doormat, or if she isn’t “feisty” (in a cute and non-threatening way), she is more more likely to be the villain of the piece rather than the protagonist.

  2. I’ve long wondered what Jezebel’s side of the story is compared to that of the god botherers who took her down.

    • Certainly the record of the events regarding Her Late Majesty’s life and death, as set out in the Bible, was written down centuries after the fact by (presumably male) authors who had a clear monolatrous agenda. Lesley Hazelton has written a book entitled Jezebel: The Untold Story of the Bible’s Harlot Queen, which has been reasonably well reviewed (and please excuse the subtitle); and it was a finalist for the 2008 Washington Book Award.

      Disclaimer: I have not read the book myself, but it is available at Amazon for under $10.00 and may well be worth a read. I should probably get a copy myself.

  3. Her eyebrows are the boss of you – I love that!

  4. This made my whole day. I might have even tipped back my head and cackled a bit.

Leave a Reply

