How To Be Idle and Blessed

grasshopper_on_a_flower-t2

This week has felt really, really hard – California is on fire, Puerto Rico is starving to death with no clean water and apparently it’s not FEMA’s job to help them, bros left and right are blaming Hillary Clinton for Harvey Weinstein’s sexual crimes, the “dirtbag” left still thinks rape is super funny, No-me-KEY Konst is still on the increasingly inaccurately named Democratic “unity” commission despite this, the Women’s March decided that St. Bernard of the Snows would be the best possible way to open their bullshit Women’s Convention in Detroit later this month, so-called President Trump is still the so-called President, I rode the bus home Tuesday night with a guy who spent the whole ride sitting there LOUDLY telling his buddy about all these men he knows who’ve hit women and injured them badly (in two of his stories, the male abusers broke the women’s jaws) and the bitches totally deserved it (yes, I made sure NOT to get off at the stop as he did), and I’m feeling like I’m about one sideways look from going all THAG SMASH on the world.

I know I need this, and maybe you do, too.

The Summer Day by Mary Oliver

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

FWIW, I’m not the poetry fan/expert Hecate is, but this one is so meaningful to me I recently had its final couplet tattooed in a fairly visible location.

Image found here.

Like what you read? Follow me on Twitter @MrsWhatsit1.

 

 

4 responses to “How To Be Idle and Blessed

  1. Beautiful 💜Blessed Be

  2. Perfect timing! I just got home from the doc with a diagnosis of a broken foot and torn tendon and I saw this post, “How to Be Idle and Blessed.” You’ve caught Hecate’s style, and you made me cry, but for once they were tears of joy and love. Blessed Be.

  3. Yes, all of that, and thank you for this poem.

Leave a Reply

