May the Goddess Guard Her. May She Find Her Way to the Summerlands. May Her Friends and Family Know Peace.

Many years ago, I read an article about some women, I think at the time Katherine Hepburn was one, of whom the article said that they paid the world the great compliment of being reluctant to leave it.  Ursula K. Le Guin slipped beyond the veil yesterday, at 88.

She has touched me.  I have grown.

7 responses to “May the Goddess Guard Her. May She Find Her Way to the Summerlands. May Her Friends and Family Know Peace.

  1. Bon Voyage, Ursula. You will be missed.

  2. I will miss her more than any of the many famous people who’ve died over the past year or so; she was an irreplaceable human being in the best possible sense … She gave me so much joy.

  3. RIP To a wonderful Witch of Words.

    Also an FYI: Two major environmental stories today: a) Water Crisis in Cape Town , Africa; b) China will no longer accept the world’s solid waste! Recycling plants across the world can not deal with the piled-up waste! Excellent story in HuffPost.

  4. Brought up the site to let you know of her passing given your clear admiration for Ms. LeGuin (hint, hint — there is a link!), but clearly the news traveled faster than me.

    In any event, I remember a callow 13 year-old on a long flight to Japan to meet his father at the next Army posting. Happily, a copy of “The Left Hand of Darkness” went with him to peel his mind open to a new consciousness.

  5. I usually don’t feel much loss when a public figure dies, but my heart wailed when I read the headline telling of her death.

    She is telling tales in the Summerlands.

  6. No adԝords, οuu link patrocinado retorno é imediato.

  7. Margaret Atwood: We lost Ursula Le Guin when we needed her most

    …But now Ursula K. Le Guin has died.

    When I heard that, I had an absurd vision based on the scene in her haunting fantasy novel “A Wizard of Earthsea,” in which the mage Ged tries to summon the spirit of a child back from the land of the dead. There was Ursula, moving calmly away down a hill of whispering sand under the unchanging stars; and there was me, distraught and running after her and calling: “No! Come back! We need you here and now!” …

Leave a comment